Naomi Campbell to Receive the CFDA Icon Award

Naomi Campbell will be the recipient of this years Fashion Icon honour at the CFDA Awards in June. The Council of Fashion Designers of America confirmed the news today, reports The Cut.

Getty Images

Campbell follows in the footsteps of other high-profile recipients of the award – many of whom are friends of hers – including Rihanna, Beyoncé and Kate Moss, who have all been declared CFDA “Fashion Icons” in the past.

Naomi Campbell to receive the CFDA Icon Award

Other industry names to be honoured during this year’s ceremony will include Diane von Furstenberg (recognised for her work for Positive Change); Narciso Rodriguez (Lifetime Achievement); and Carolina Herrera (the Founder’s Award). Donatella Versace will receive the International Award, rounding off a year which saw her honouring the legacy of her brother, Gianni Versace, to mark the 20th anniversary of his death.

Issa Rae will be the CFDA Awards’ first-ever female host of the ceremony which will take place on 4 June at the Brooklyn Museum in New York. As ever, we’re expecting the fashion world’s biggest names and brightest talents to attend in celebration of this year’s award winners and nominees.

Full list of nominees below:

Womenswear designer of the year

Raf SimonsCalvin Klein

Gabriella HearstGabriella Hearst

Marc JacobsMarc Jacobs,

Virgil AblohOff-White

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate OlsenThe Row

Menswear designer of the year

Raf SimonsCalvin Klein

Virgil AblohOff-White


Thom BrowneThom Browne

Tom Ford, Tom Ford

Accessories designer of the year

Paul AndrewPaul Andrew

Stuart VeversCoach

Rachel Mansur and Floriana GavrielMansur Gavriel

Irene NeuwirthIrene Neuwirth

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate OlsenThe Row

Swarovski award for emerging talent

Mike AmiriAmiri

Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher BrockBrock Collection

Aurora JamesBrother Vellies

Kerby Jean-Raymond, Pyer Moss

Sander LakSies Marjan

From: Harper’s BAZAAR UK