The Ultimate Guide to Prime Video’s ‘Daisy Jones & the Six’ Series

Credit: @daisyjonesandthesix / Instagram

Words by Chelsey Sanchez

Get ready to meet your impossible woman.

Everybody’s favorite fictional ’70s band is getting the television treatment.

Prime Video has teamed up with Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company to officially adapt Daisy Jones & the Six, a best-selling novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid, for the screen.

The limited series follows fictitious Los Angeles singer Daisy Jones as she joins rock band The Six, thereafter becoming one of the most famous musical acts of the 1970s—before the fame and pressure ultimately tear them apart.

As the official synopsis from Amazon Studios explains, the show details “the rise and precipitous fall of a renowned rock band. In 1977, Daisy Jones & The Six were on top of the world. Fronted by two charismatic lead singers—Daisy Jones (Riley Keough) and Billy Dunne (Sam Claflin)—the band had risen from obscurity to fame. And then, after a sold-out show at Chicago’s Soldier Field, they called it quits. Now, decades later, the band members finally agree to reveal the truth. This is the story of how an iconic band imploded at the height of its powers.”

See also
Gwyneth Paltrow To Make Small Screen Return For Star-Studded Netflix Series

Ahead, we break down everything you need to know about the series—including its release date, cast, and music.

When will Daisy Jones & The Six be released?

The series premiere will officially drop on March 3, 2023, with new episodes rolling out every Friday until March 24.

Where can I watch?

Fans can find Daisy Jones & The Six available for streaming through Prime Video. You can sign up for a 30-day free trial or subscribe for $8.99 per month.

Who’s in the cast?

Riley Keough and Sam Claflin are set to star as the band’s lead singers, Daisy Jones and Billy Dunne.

The rest of the band includes Suki Waterhouse as Karen Sirko, Will Harrison as Graham Dunne, Sebastian Chacon as Warren Rhodes, and Josh Whitehouse as Eddie Loving.

Other cast members include Camila Morrone as Camila Dunne, Billy’s wife, Nabiyah Be as Simone Jackson, a famous disco singer, Timothy Olyphant as Rod Reyes, The Six’s manager, and Tom Wright as Teddy Price, a producer.

Keough, the granddaughter of Elvis Presley, previously compared Daisy Jones to her mother, Lisa Marie Presley, who recently passed away at 54 years old.

See also
Vanessa Hudgens Breaks Free From A Disney Icon To A Gun-Wielding Heroin

“My mother is certainly an inspiration to me,” the actress told People. “I was raised by somebody who did their own thing and didn’t really care what other people thought. She was definitely inspirational to me.”

The teaser trailer includes a first listen of the highly-anticipated song, “Regret Me.”

The first teaser for Daisy Jones & The Six, released by Prime Video on January 25, promises a spirited adaption of the fan-favorite songs first seen in the Taylor Jenkins Reid novel.

In the trailer, Keough’s Daisy and Claflin’s Billy can be heard singing the lyrics, “You regret me and I regret you. / You couldn’t handle your liquor and you can’t seem to handle the truth” and “Go ahead and regret me but I always will too regret you / Go ahead and regret me but I’m beating you to it, dude.”

You can now listen to the full song here.

The teaser also reveals how the series will tackle the documentary style confessionals that the original novel presented. While the book had the band members retell their story decades after the breakup, Keough portrays Daisy talking about the band while still seemingly set in the ’70s.

See also
This Luxury Automotive Marque Is Driving Electric Mobility In Malaysia

“Look, I know that I said that I would tell you everything,” she says to the camera while sitting in a recording studio. “But how much of everything do you really want to know?”

Who’s writing the music?

The show tapped Blake Mills—a singer-songwriter who has previously worked with musicians like Fiona Apple, Lana Del Rey, and The Chicks—to write its music. Additionally, Tony Berg came on as a producer while Malcolm McRae and Kane Ritchotte worked as vocal coaches for the cast.

Variety reports that Aurora, the band’s 11-song debut album, will also be released in conjunction with the series’ March 3 premiere. Co-writing credits on Aurora include Phoebe Bridgers, Marcus Mumford, and Jackson Browne. Featured instrumentalists are Rilo Kiley, the Who, Nine Inch Nails, Pearl Jam, David Bowie, Elton John, Jeff Beck, and the Wallflowers.

This article originally appeared in

A lover of steamy romance books and all things green, Syameen Salehaldin is the Senior Content Producer for Harper's BAZAAR Malaysia. She spends most of her time immersed in books, and food and doing anything that makes her happy. Expect to see her diving into lifestyle, fashion and beauty trends on this platform.