7 Romantasy Book Series You Need to Read Now

It’s time to be swoon

If you’re looking for an epic love story, tons of adventure and a little heartbreak, then we’ve got just the thing for you: romantasy books commonly known as fantasy romance books. Filled with badass heroines, hunky villains-turned-heroes, and swoon-worth scenes that will leave you giggling and kicking your feet, romantasy books are in and you should start adding some to your TBR list.

Scroll below to see our curated list of the best romantasy book series.

All the romantasy book series you need to add to your TBR list:

Divine Rivals

Romantasy Books

Rebecca Ross

Rebecca Ross’s Divine Rivals is an epic enemies-to-lovers fantasy series filled with love and heartbreak. The book follows two young rival journalists who find love through a magical connection —enchanted letters and typewriters — and they must face the depths of hell to seal their fate forever. Full of adventures, hope and love, this is a series you can’t miss out on. So, start reading now before the second book comes out in a couple of months.

See also
Where To Dine With The Best Art In The World

Throne of Glass

Sarah J. Maas

Known for its gripping storyline, this romance fantasy book follows 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien who gets dragged into a competition run by the King to get her freedom. But, when her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival. With tons of angst, pining, love, world domination and more, this 8-book series is not one to miss.

A Court of Thorn and Roses 

Romantasy Books

Sarah J. Maas

Fans of Throne of Glass will love this ongoing book series. The fantasy romance book follows a nineteen-year-old huntress, Feyre who kills a wolf in the woods, which leads to a terrifying creature arriving to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous fairie magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world. This is an addictive book that is filled with heartbreak, love, adventures and tons and tons of hunky men. Plus, if you’re into steamy romances then you’ll be in for a treat.

See also
What You Need to Know About Malaysian Author Claudia Tan

Once Upon A Broken Heart

Stephanie Garber

Once Upon A Broken Heart follows Evangeline Fox who strikes a deal with the wicked and handsome Prince of Hearts, in hopes of searching for her happy ending and her one true love. In exchange for his help, he asks for three kisses, to be given at the time and place of his choosing. But after Evangeline’s first promised kiss, she learns that bargaining with an immortal is a dangerous game—and that the Prince of Hearts wants far more from her than she’d pledged.

Fourth Wing

Rebecca Yarros

Romantasy lovers will devour this book in 24 hours no doubt. Full of chaotic spicy scenes, mind-reading, competition, dragons and a fuelling war, this enemies-to-lovers book is spectacular. Enter the brutal and elite world of a war college for dragon riders now where Violet Sorrengail must compete with hundreds of candidates striving to become the elite of Navarre — dragon riders. But, what she didn’t expect was to unexpectedly fall for Xaden Riorson, the most powerful and ruthless wing leader in the Riders Quadrant, and also be caught in a war that’s growing more deadly.

See also
BAZAAR's Best Moments: BAZAAR Pink Project

One Dark Window

Romantasy Books

Rachel Gillig

When Elspeth meets a mysterious highwayman on the forest road, her life takes a drastic turn. Thrust into a world of shadow and deception, she joins a dangerous quest to cure Blunder from the dark magic infecting it.

The Serpent and The Wings of Night

Romantasy Books

Carissa Broadbent

With a slow-burn romance, beautifully crafted plot and riveting sex scenes, this book series is perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses. Following Oraya, the adoptive human daughter of the Nightborn vampire king, she gets caught in a legendary tournament held by the goddess of death, so that she can prove her worth. What she didn’t expect was to stumble upon Raihn, a hunky, ruthless vampire. Trust us if you love heart-wrenching romance, dark magic and bloodthirst, then this book is one to sink your teeth into. 

A lover of steamy romance books and all things green, Syameen Salehaldin is the Senior Content Producer for Harper's BAZAAR Malaysia. She spends most of her time immersed in books, and food and doing anything that makes her happy. Expect to see her diving into lifestyle, fashion and beauty trends on this platform.